Minimalist Chicken Mushroom

I know what you’re thinking.  This dude cooks?  What the flying fuck?  It’s true, I enjoy culinary excellence and pinky raising occasions, especially when concocted in my own kitchen.  Now I am bachelor extrema, and do not have a giant kitchen where I can fire up 4 pans, have a prep station, a sterile station, and a place for dirty dishes.  I’m working with minimal space, so I like to keep my dishes down to one or two pots or pans.  This recipe is a single pan meal and it is super tasty.  It’s a go to jam whenever I am in a rush, or when I am having someone over and don’t feel like doing much.

What you need:

  • Oven safe pan.  I use a cast iron skillet, properly seasoned.  But any oven safe joint will work.
  • some chicken:  Depends on how many you’re cooking for. For the purposes of this recipe I will be cooking for two.  I use two boneless skinless chicken breasts, but bone in chicken is fine, so is the skin as it adds a mighty flavor to the sauce at the end.
  • a grip of mushrooms.  I use around 8-10 oz. of crimini mushrooms, but any non dried mushroom type will work.
  • salt to taste
  • pepper to taste
  • 1 tablespoon butter

This is how we do it:

Preheat your oven to 375 F

Throw your pan on your stove at medium heat.  Use your choice of pan lubricant for this first part.  I didn’t list it in the ingredients because I find it can vary.  I prefer to use rendered animal fat.  My friend Cali-Baba uses olive oil.  My homey Solly-Baba uses coconut oil.  Whatever works for you, use that.  Get that pan lubed up and throw your chicken on.

Cook your chicken at medium heat for about 5 minutes.  After those 5 minutes, flip those birds, add your mushrooms and turn up the heat to medium – high, more on the high end. Cook those mushrooms down around your chicken in the same pan and get a nice sear on your chicken.  Mushrooms are weepers so nothing is going to burn.

Image

After 5 minutes, throw that entire pan into the oven.  Cook that shit until it’s internal temp is around 165 F or the juices run clear.

Remove the pan from the oven and take the chicken out of the pan.  Put the chicken on a plate to kick it.  I usually just put my Wok lid over the plate with a little sticking over the edge of the counter.  This way the chicken stays warm, but doesn’t cook more.

Put that pan on medium heat and throw in a half cup of water.  This is where the magic happens.  That chicken stuff, that mushroom stuff, that water stuff, mixing it together.  Getting wicked.  Cook that down until there is about 1/4 of a cup in there.  Throw your butter in, and stir that mix as the butter melts in.  You can throw any juices off the plate of chicken in there at this point too if you so desire.

Once the butter is melted in you have a delicious sauce.  Throw that sauce and those mushrooms over the chicken and walla!  Bon Ape Tit.

I’ve used all parts of chicken in this recipe so experiment.  Also, I like it to serve it with a colorful salad as this dish is pretty much brown and white, so it’s nice to add a side with some color.  Summer squash, zucchini and red/yellow bell peppers are great as well.  Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Minimalist Chicken Mushroom

  1. Pingback: Rojo’s Road To Fitness | Rojobag

  2. Pingback: Work Related: Aesthetics Edition | Rojobag

I bet you have something to say about that, go ahead, do it here.

